Guests

This is where any guests attending the event are announced. Chat about anything to do with the event that does not fit into the other categories

Guests

Postby colwot on Sat May 24, 2008 10:14 pm

Is it time for Expo to ditch the Autograph Guests?

I have been attending Expo for several years. The space devoted to Guests signing is getting less and less each expo. There is no room to queue. One queue to see four guests and when you get to the front, one of them has gone for a break and another to a photo session! Other shows are far better at organising signings. A great deal of the stalls that used to come to Expo which appealed to the Auto and SciFi collector have stopped coming. Expo has been fantastically successful with attracting the Anime and manga fans, I think it should concentrate on this market.

What does everyone else think?
colwot

Re: Guests

Postby SciFiMAD on Sat May 24, 2008 10:24 pm

100%, either make the guests a bigger part of the show, taking into account without guest at the beginning of Expo there would not be Expo or say bye bye to them. Just like a lot of the fans that used to come to the shows for the guests.
SciFiMAD

Postby joleslie on Sat May 24, 2008 10:32 pm

Either ditch them completely, or make a completely separate area from the manga that is spacious enough for queues.
joleslie

Postby StarryKat on Sat May 24, 2008 10:45 pm

A completely separate area would be best, where the board selling wooden cosplay weapons was, that would have been ideal for the guests, longer, more space for people to move. I mean it should still be kept within the hall, the guests would be bored if they didn't have the atmosphere or wacky cosplayers to look at. I think maybe there should be a limit on the size of weapons though, seriously some people were not careful when moving with their giant weapons.
StarryKat

Postby SapMao on Sat May 24, 2008 11:00 pm

The layout was better last October.